All Colorado State Parks have entrance fees. All vehicles are required to have an entrance pass and some parks have walk-in fees.
Parks Pass Fees are Changing in 2019
With the passage of Senate Bill 18-143, CPW is able to adjust pricing to meet the pressures of increased management costs and resource usage across the state. These adjustments allow the agency to continue our conservation mission, while also ensuring transparency and accountability in working to achieve the ten key goals laid out in the bill. Daily, annual and walk-in park pass fees changed in 2019. Learn more about the 2019 park pass fee adjustments
and visit our Future Generations Act Frequently Asked Questions page
for additional information.
2019 Park Pass Updates
Annual Hangtag Passes
2019 brings a new annual hangtag pass option.
New annual hangtag passes are associated with an individual purchaser instead of a vehicle. This means that the hangtag pass can be moved between vehicles as long as the passholder is present.
Clear, recyclable hangtags are available at all 41 state parks and all CPW offices. If you purchase your pass online or at other license agents, you can pick up your hang tag on your first park visit.
Which Parks Pass is right for you?
Click on the parks pass name to learn about purchasing requirements and options (including replacing lost or damaged passes).
Annual Affixed Vehicle Pass - $80 per vehicle. Our Annual Pass can now be purchased at any time of year and is valid for a full 12 months of use. The pass is good through the last day of the month, one year from purchase. Purchase it online today!
Annual Hang Tag Pass - $120 per person. These passes are associated with an individual purchaser instead of a vehicle, which means that the hangtag pass can be moved between vehicles as long as the passholder is present.
Annual Affixed Vehicle or Hang Tag Multiple Pass - $40 per vehicle. After purchase of Annual Pass, vehicles in same household are eligible for a discounted multiple pass.
Aspen Leaf Pass - $70 per vehicle (CO Residents 64 years or older). The Aspen Leaf pass is available for purchase at any time of year and is valid for 12 months from date of purchase.
Aspen Leaf Multiple Pass - $35 per vehicle. After purchase of Aspen Annual Pass, senior must be in whole or part owner of additional vehicles to be eligible for a discounted multiple pass.
Specialty Passes and Plates
Individual Daily Pass - $4 per day or carry annual pass receipt for entry at: Arkansas Headwaters Recreation Area, Barr Lake, Crawford, Colorado State Forest, Eldorado Canyon, Elkhead Reservoir, Harvey Gap, Highline Lake, James M. Robb - Colorado River, Lory, Pearl Lake, Rifle Gap, Rifle Falls, Stagecoach, Steamboat Lake, Sweitzer Lake, Sylvan Lake, Trinidad Lake, Vega and Yampa River State Parks
Dog Off-Leash Area Pass (Cherry Creek and Chatfield only) - $25 annual or $3 per day
Columbine Pass - $14 (Disabled CO Residents only)
Colorado Disabled Veterans License Plate - no cost. See our Military Benefits page for more information.
Centennial Pass - $14 (Income Eligible CO Residents only)
August Military Pass - no cost. For more information, see the Military Benefits page.
*In addition to the cost listed above, for entrance to Cherry Creek State Park, an annual $3 or $1 per day water basin authority pass is also required.
Where can you purchase your park pass?
How to Attach Your Affixed Park Pass to Your Vehicle
Annual and Aspen Leaf Passes
All annual passes (including replacements and multiples), Aspen Leaf Annual Passes (including replacements and multiples), and Aspen Leaf Lifetime Free Passes must be permanently affixed to the customer's vehicle.
Customers who purchase an Annual Pass will be provided a plastic sticker to affix their pass to their vehicle as described in the How to Affix Your Sticker Park Pass Instructions.
How to Display Hangtag Passes in Your Vehicle
Centennial, Columbine, and August Military Passes
Since these passes are associated to an individual, not a vehicle, they may be moved from car-to-car as long as the passholder is present.
Customers who purchase a Centennial, Columbine, or August Military pass will be provided a reusable hang tag to display their pass. The pass can be secured in the hang tag by tucking the corners into the corner slits. For increased stability, passes can be taped to the hang tag.
Discounts for buying in large quantities
Annual vehicle passes that are purchased in large quantities (at least 20) during a single sales transaction at a state park facility may receive the following discounts:
- If you purchase 20-49 passes = 20% discount
- If you purchase 50-99 passes = 25% discount
- If you purchase 100+ passes = 30% discount
*Aspen Leaf Passes are not available for bulk order discounts.
Customers wishing to get the quantity discount should contact their local CPW office or park
for additional information. Customers will need to provide the license plate numbers and state for each pass they wish to purchase.